Animal House (1978)

Animal House is funny because it’s true. From my own post-secondary experience with the occasional frat-person, they’ve pretty much nailed it. It’s insane and plays on stereotypes. Maybe it created those stereotypes. Maybe before the film Animal House, these stereotypes didn’t exist… Naw. They nailed it. I can picture the whole cast “method” acting the whole thing. They were too convincing to not be completely immersed in their roles. I bet Belushi had no script and just improvised the whole thing… film was expensive back then – that says something about the genius here, I’m sure.

Here’s what we learn from Animal House:

Knowledge is good

“Pigs-knuckle” is a town in Arkansas

The Germans bombed Pearl Harbor

College takes at least 7 years

College!

 

Also worth noting is that this documentary appears to imply that if you are a part of a fraternity, that the only law you need to abide is that of academic probation. Keep your grades up, and all other shenanigans shall be overlooked.

 

So,

Did I like Animal House?                                              Yes.

Would I watch it again?                                              Probably not.

Would I recommend it to others?                            Only to people that have completed 7 years of college

Leave a comment