Some Like it, Not (1959)

I think it’s my own sensibilities that make Some Like it Hot (1959) less appealing to me. On one side of the movie’s equation, you have a woman whose primary goal is to find a rich guy to marry, and it doesn’t seem to matter what approach she takes or what she gives up to achieve that. On the opposing side of that equation, a guy whose primary goal is to get Marilyn Munro’s character to sleep with him… using less than gentlemanly tactics (in my opinion) by pretending to be a millionaire that feels nothing. This situation follows from the two guys becoming witness to a massive mob hit whilst entertaining at a Chicago night club (the guys are musicians). They sign up for a gig with a women’s musical group to get out of town under the radar. It’s a great premise, but I found the whole thing ridiculous, over the top, and mostly a farce. A farce and a barrage of one liners strung together mostly making one question the values we place on high heels. I can see how this could be entertaining in its day, but it just was not for me. Some old movies just have too many hurdles for me to get over, I think that was the case with this one.
Yeah, Some Like it Hot probably broke new ground. It’s probably an excellent model of what romantic comedies should do. I can even get behind the film as a social commentary on gender roles. In that vein…Was Marilyn Munro super hot? You betcha. In the end, this film just wasn’t for me at the time that I watched it.

So,

Did I enjoy Some Like it Hot?                       Not a lot

Would I watch it again?                                 No

Would I recommend it to others?             No

Leave a comment